Ready For Takeoff!/ Blog Updates

Good Morning All!

Here I am coming to you guys with yet another post at the wee hours of the morning (2:30 a.m. to be specific). The featured image is a picture of the luggage that we will be toting around for most of tomorrow… :/

I am soooo ready to be on my way to Mexico! Our bags are all packed, the house is clean, the plants have been watered, etc. and now its just relatively smooth sailing from here on out. Our flight leaves tomorrow at 9:30 a.m. which means that we should be arriving in Mexico City by 1-2 p.m., leaving me ecstatic that there are less than 24 hours standing between me and my beautiful family. Now we just have to get through the turmoil of checking our luggage, waiting for what seems like an eternity in the TSA line, and then finally making the mad dash to our terminal so that we can finally check into our flight, get seated, and be on our merry way.

The flight is about 3.5-4 hours long so I already know I will be ordering one of those cheese plates that always looks so pretty on the menu and then is incredibly lackluster when it is finally placed in front of you by the flight attendant. Despite this, food is food and I am a huge foodie so I won’t complain. I will however add that all I really long for is a giant plate of enchiladas Suizas or a nice warm pile of tlacoyos de frijol con crema.

Along with the usual things one would pack for an extended stay in a foreign country, I’ve made sure to pack plenty of books to keep myself occupied on the flight and during the whole two months that we will be there. Most of these are located in my carry-on for easy access, that is if I don’t end up sleeping the whole flight. I will list the books off at the end of this post!

Now about the updates that I have done with the format of this blog. I have tried to make it a bit more aesthetically pleasing, at least for myself, without having to spend money on a fancy theme or anything like that. It’s not that I’m cheep or anything, I just enjoy having money for souvenirs and food! I have also added a list of books linked to my Goodreads account which displays  some of the books that I have read in the past two years, a calendar at the foot of my page that displays the dates of my posts, and beside that I have also added a widget that counts down to any important events relevant to posts I have made or will make on this blog. Also, there is a section for a lovely featured quote that I will try to update monthly to keep you guys inspired or something.

That seems to be pretty much it! Thanks for tuning in!

Side note: I’m sorry this post was so long…I tend to ramble a bit sometimes, but I really don’t feel like doing too much editing right now. If you’ve made it this far, I salute you! Thank you for hanging in there! I don’t think most of my posts will be this long and drawn out, but we will see.

List of my paperback companions (as promised)

  • A Mother’s Reckoning: Living in the Aftermath of Tragedy ~ by Sue Klebold
  • The Orchardist ~ by: Amanda Coplin
  • The Mommy Myth: The Idealization of Motherhood and How It Has Undermined All Women ~ by: Susan J. Douglas & Meredith W. Michaels
  • The New Killer Diseases: How the Alarming Evolution of Germs Threatens Us All ~ by: Elinor Levy & Mark Fischetti
Leave a Reply

